Favourite antiwork quotes

I'm looking for a quote to drop in at the beginning of a game I'm working on. I liked an snippet from Alan Watts' "What if money was no object?" speech. Here's the quote I liked:

…if you say that getting the money is the most important thing, you will spend your life completely wasting your time. You’ll be doing things you don’t like doing in order to go on living, that is to go on doing things you don’t like doing, which is stupid. Better to have a short life that is full of what you like doing than a long life spent in a miserable way.

I don't think speech is necessarily anti work, although it could be interpreted as such and that's why I'm thinking I shouldn't use it. I don't want to twist the message for a purpose it wasn't intended. The game itself is going to be a free release with no intention of commercial gain, so I think I have slightly more freedom in that sense.

Share your quotes!

Touch here for the full post on the How Much Is Your Life Worth tumblr

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started